Following an inspirational and record-breaking Rugby World Cup in 2015, the stage is now set for Japan to deliver what will undoubtedly be a unique and thrilling tournament – the first one to be held in Asia!


Rugby World Cup 2019™ Qualifiers

Twenty teams have secured their place in the 2019 tournament; these include the automatically qualifying top three teams in each of the four pools at the 2015 Rugby World Cup and Japan as the tournament host. Regional slots and cross-regional play-offs decided the remaining spaces.


Rugby World Cup 2019™ Pool Stage

In the first round or pool stage, the teams are divided into four pools of five teams. Each pool will be a single round-robin of ten games, in which each team plays one match against each of the other teams in the same pool.

Teams are awarded four points for a win, two for a draw and none for a defeat by eight or more points. A team scoring four tries in one match is awarded a bonus point, as is a team that loses by fewer than eight points – both bonus points are awarded if both situations apply.


The top two teams of each pool will advance to the quarter-finals, while the top three teams of each pool will also receive automatic qualification to the 2023 Rugby World Cup in France.

Host Cities & Venues

Twelve venues throughout Japan will host Rugby World Cup 2019™ matches. Located across the length and breadth of Japan, the venues were chosen to give the sports-loving population every opportunity to be a part of rugby’s greatest tournament.

From the northernmost venue in Sapporo City to its southernmost counterpart, Kumamoto City, fans will be at the heart of the event, always within close proximity to the action on the field.


Ticketing Information

Edusport is an Official Travel Agent in South Africa for the sale of match-ticket inclusive travel packages and official hospitality packages for Rugby World Cup 2019.

Browse our packages now and book your tickets for a once-in-a-lifetime experience!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This