Select Page

Strap yourself in for fast and formidable rugby action! Rugby Sevens is a variant of the game we know and love, in which teams are made up of seven players playing seven minute halves, instead of the usual 15 players playing 40 minute halves.

The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series consists of 10 tournaments held around the world, in which national Rugby Sevens teams compete for series points at each round. An overall champion is crowned at the end of the season based on points accumulated throughout the 10 events, from the opening round in Dubai to the final round in London.

After four-straight seasons as runners-up, South Africa’s Blitzbokke sealed their Sevens victory in Paris to shake off their reputation as “the bridesmaids of the sport.” Will they hold their title in 2018? Be there to find out!

What to expect

Known for their festival-like atmosphere, Sevens tournaments usually take place over a weekend, with fans coming dressed up in fun and outlandish outfits.

  • Sevens rugby is fast-paced and exciting, with plenty of tries and high-scoring action.
  • Expect to see upwards of 20 rugby games in a tournament.
  • The fan experience is lively and colourful with plenty of entertainment on and off the field.

Where to catch the action

The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series kicks off in Dubai on 1 December, before moving to Cape Town the next week. Following the December break, Sydney will welcome the Rugby Sevens teams over three days in January before they move to Hamilton a week later. The fifth and sixth rounds will then take place in Las Vegas and Vancouver in March. Hong Kong will host the seventh round and Singapore the eighth. The two final rounds will take place in Paris and London respectively.


HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2017-18 Dates:




1 – 2 December 2017 Dubai The Sevens Stadium
9 – 10 December 2017 Cape Town Cape Town Stadium
26 – 28 January 2018 Sydney Allianz Stadium
3 – 4 February 2018 Hamilton FMG Stadium Waikato
2 – 4 March 2018 Las Vegas Sam Boyd Stadium
10 – 11 March 2018 Vancouver BC Place
6 – 8 April 2018 Hong Kong Hong Kong Stadium
28 – 29 April 2018 Singapore National Stadium
26 – 27 May 2018 Paris Stade Jean-Bouin
2 – 3 June 2018 London Twickenham Stadium

The HSBC Rugby Sevens World Series has been held every season since the 1999 – 2000 inaugural season. Each season features seven to eleven tournaments, usually starting around November and concluding around May. Most tournaments see 16 teams competing – these are mostly “core teams” that participate in each event, but also some teams that win the right to participate in select events.

New Zealand has been the dominant force in the Sevens Series, winning 12 out of the 18 seasons, including the first six seasons from 1999-2000 to 2004-05. In recent years, however, several other teams have challenged New Zealand’s dominance. Fiji won the Series in 2005-06 and again in 2014-15 and 2015-16; South Africa won in 2008-09 and 2016-17; and Samoa claimed the 2009-10 crown. Other strong contenders include England and Australia, each of whom have had several top four finishes in recent seasons. The 2015 London Sevens saw the United States win their first-ever tournament in the World Series

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This